Why choose University of Sarajevo?

… because it is placed in Sarajevo!

Sarajevo is the capital and the largest city of Bosnia and Herzegovina, with a population of app 300,000 people living in the four municipalities that make up the city area, and around 440,000 people living in the wider area of the Sarajevo Canton (according to data from 2013 Census of Population, Households and Dwellings in Bosnia and Herzegovina). Sarajevo is located in the Sarajevo valley, surrounded by the Dinaric Alps, and situated around the Miljacka River. The city is famous for its traditional religious diversity, with believers of Islam, Orthodoxy, Catholicism, and Judaism living here for centuries.

… because of its historical path!

Sarajevo was first placed on the map of academic centres in this part of Europe in 1573, with the signing of the Waqfname (Book of Endowment) by Gazi Husrev-bey. Today, Gazi Husrev-bey’s Library is, as an associate member, the oldest institution within the University of Sarajevo. Following the departure of the Ottoman administration and the arrival of Austria-Hungary, the Sharia Judicial Academy was founded in 1887, the National Museum in 1888 (associated member), the Catholic Seminary of the Vrhbosna Archbishopric in 1890 (associated member). Sarajevo has attracted international attention several times throughout its history: in 1914 it was the site of the assassination of the Austrian heir to the throne, the event that triggered the World War I, while seventy years later it became the host City of the 1984 Winter Olympics. More recently, Sarajevo went through the longest siege in the modern military history, during the Aggression on Bosnia and Herzegovina. Today, the city is recovering and adjusting to a post-aggression reality, as a major centre of culture and economic development in Bosnia and Herzegovina. Interestingly, Sarajevo was also the first city in Europe and the second city in the world to have a full-time operational electric tram network.

…because of its international mission and vision!

Since its founding, the University of Sarajevo is oriented towards international cooperation, building bridges between cultures, and establishing formal partnerships with universities from all over the world. The University of Sarajevo is open to anyone who wishes to contribute, with intellectual and moral qualities, to develop¬ment of education and science, within the principles of the University autonomy which is the main condition for academic freedom of individual expression and affirmation of skills and qualities. The orientation of the University of Sarajevo, which we wish to be recognized for, is the integration into the world academic processes and continuous efforts towards the improvement of our international reputation.

…because of the large higher education institution family!

This public institution offers study and research opportunities in 25 Faculties and Academies, five research centers, five research institutes, National and University Library, Gazi Husrev-bey library, National Museum, Student Parliament, Erasmus Student Network, …

…because of the variety of study programmes!

University of Sarajevo offers wide range of study programmes in the science group of Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Social Sciences, Technical Sciences and Nature and Biotechnical Sciences. Based on ISCED and ERASMUS classification, offered study programme are: Agriculture & Forestry, Architecture & Transport, Fine Arts & Design, Performing Arts, Music & Musicology, Business Studies, Management Science, Education, Electrical Engineering, Telecommunications, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Geography, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Philosophy, Psychology, Languages, History, Archaeology, Sociology, Islamic Studies, Catholic Studies, Law, Criminology, Medicine, Pharmacy, Public Health, Dentistry, Veterinary, Journalism, Public Relations, Communication, Security And Peace Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Political Science, Public Administration and Sports.

… because of the international programs!

The University of Sarajevo enjoys partnerships with over 100 universities in Europe, the USA, Canada, and the Middle East. University of Sarajevo is an equal partner in mobility programs for students and members of staff, and it is open for study and research activities (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Horizon 2020, Erasmus+, CEEPUS, Mevlana, DAAD, Fulbright, and others). In the period between 1996 and 2014, including the TEMPUS preparatory phase, the University of Sarajevo participated in a total of 103 TEMPUS projects; of that, in 83 as a partner, in 16 as the academic coordinator, and in four as the grant holder.

… because of the exchange mobility!

Thanks to partnerships in numerous international projects, between 2008 and 2016 the University of Sarajevo had over 4000 mobility exchange activities. Aside of Erasmus, in 2013, the University of Sarajevo signed an agreement with Turkish higher education institutions within the Mevlana Exchange Programme allowing representatives of Turkish universities to visit our University and students and faculty members from our University to visit Turkish higher education institutions. By participating in the Fulbright programme, funded by the USA government, the University of Sarajevo has had a total of 48 mobility exchanges with US universities since 2008, namely 24 mobility visits by faculty members of the University of Sarajevo to the US and 24 mobility visits by faculty members from US universities who came to the University of Sarajevo.

… because it is in ERASMUS!

In 2008, the European Union gave Bosnia and Herzegovina an opportunity to participate in a programme designed for countries not participating in ERASMUS as the largest programme for financial and organizational incentive for academic mobility. Since then, the University of Sarajevo has been participating in each of the Erasmus Mundus projects financed by European Commission. This makes University of Sarajevo the only university in the region to participate in all Erasmus Mundus programs (from 2008 until 2014 – a total of 19), thus allowing students, professors and TAs to be selected from among 55 universities in EU member states. At the same time, organisational units of our University hosted students and faculty members from the EU. On 19 June 2014, Bosnia and Herzegovina respectively signed an Agreement establishing their partial participation in ‘Erasmus+’: the Union programme for education, training, youth and sport (2014-2020). University of Sarajevo benefits as partner country of the external cooperation activities with over 60 active inter-institutional agreements.